AUTO INJURY RELIEF IN Palm Harbor FL
Don’t LOSE Your Medical Benefits After An Accident in Palm Harbor FL
Don’t lose your medical benefits after a car accident in Palm Harbor or the greater Tampa Bay area! Did you know that after an automobile collision, you are entitled to up to $10,000 to pay for medical expenses? Under the Florida Personal Injury Protection (PIP) statute, any injuries sustained from the collision are covered as long as you seek care from any hospital facility, medical doctor, or chiropractor in Palm Harbor FL within 14 days after the date of the collision. This statute was put into place so that every injured person in an accident can receive medical coverage without having to fight over who is at fault.
This “14-day rule” also covers things like lost wages and death benefits. Many individuals are unaware of this relatively new statute that was passed in 2012 and often lose out on these benefits that can dramatically reduce the amount of stress and potential suffering that accommodate any automobile accident. Once these 14 days pass, any symptoms that surface will not be covered by your auto insurance and you will personally be responsible for medical bills whether out of pocket or using health insurance.
If you’ve been injured in a car accident and are not sure what happens next, see a medical professional, immediately. Oftentimes, people wait and lose out on their medical coverage. Look for a specialist that works with auto injuries to make sure you have all the appropriate documentation needed for your insurance company. Often times pain and discomfort may not become apparent until after the 14 days. Injuries manifest and can get worst over time. Waiting can cause the injuries to get worst.
PERSONAL INJURY PROTECTION
If you are injured in a car accident and you are one of the insured parties on the auto insurance policy, you will be making a “no-fault” injury claim on Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage that Florida law requires you to carry. Florida’s no-fault state requirement includes you carrying PIP on your auto insurance policy and turning to your insurance for coverage of your medical expenses first.
PIP claims are considered first-party claims. This means you are making a claim to your own insurance company, rather than the other party’s insurance policy. This is similar to having your health insurance pay for a medical expense. PIP covers medical bills without regard to fault in the accident.
In the state of Florida, PIP is required to cover medical expenses. PIP coverage pays for up to $10,000 in medical bills, however, it does not cover all your bills. Florida PIP laws require your insurance to pay 80% of the medical bills which will max out at ten thousand dollars. You will still be responsible for the other 20%. So, how can you cover the additional 20% of medical bills? “Medpay”.
MEDICAL PAYMENTS (“MEDPAY”)
When you purchased your car insurance in Florida, you may have also elected to choose Medical Payment (MedPay) coverage on your policy. In Florida, MedPay coverage is optional and only applies to medical payments. MedPay will cover you, any of your passengers, and even pedestrians that may have been involved. Many insured drivers do not have MedPay coverage, but it may prove useful. This type of coverage is very beneficial as a supplement to your PIP coverage, as it will pay for the 20% co-pay that PIP does not pay and for medical expenses above the $10,000 cutoff.
GOOD 2 GO CHIROPRACTIC
The team at Good2Go Chiropractic has years of experience dealing with insurance companies. If you or a loved one has been hurt in an automobile accident, call Good2Go Chiropractic today. We can help you navigate payment for treatment of your injuries through your auto insurance policy. Our phone number is (727) 722-7700. Please feel free to contact us with any questions.
Dr. Ryan P. Goodman and the staff at Good 2 Go Chiropractic are not personal injury lawyers and any legal questions should be addressed to a qualified personal injury attorney. We can provide the names of local attorneys if you do not have one.
7:00am - 7:00pm
7:00am - 5:00pm
7:00am - 7:00pm
7:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday & Sunday